Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation


Alabama State University has seven colleges (the College of Business Administration, the College of Education, the College of Health Sciences, the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, the College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, and the College of Visual and Performing Arts) granting bachelors, masters, specialists and doctoral degrees. The development of educational programs is essential to the mission of Alabama State University and its pursuit of excellence in teaching, research and public service.

As required, the Alabama Commission on Higher Education (ACHE) approves all degree programs, certificates, concentrations and additions, deletions and changes to ASU’s academic inventory of programs at ASU. Degree programs approved by ACHE that are a significant departure from the institution’s current program inventory requires approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). In addition, the University’s teacher preparation programs in the College of Education require the approval of the Alabama State Department of Education accompanied by ACHE. According to the current ACHE program inventory, ASU offers sixty-three (63) approved undergraduate and graduate level degree programs as listed below with CIP Codes.

Download the pdf